thinking makes it so

There is grandeur in this view of life…

Hello again

with 2 comments

I’ve just seen that my last post before this one was dated 23 July 2011. Over 16 months ago! What have I been doing?

University of Cape Town, Upper Campus

University of Cape Town, Upper Campus

To cut a long story short I have been applying to do a PhD in Philosophy, and then actually starting it. At the University of Cape Town, just down the road from where I live. I’m doing it part-time (I still work full time); and I’m finding it hugely challenging, but thoroughly worth while. I almost can’t believe I’m doing it, considering it’s now 33 years after I had to give up my PhD at Birkbeck College, London before I’d really started.

Back then my thesis was on Mimesis, in Aesthetics. This time round it’s on the Ethics of Belief. (There’s a surprise.)

Written by Chris Lawrence

8 December 2012 at 7:19 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks Terry! At risk of stating the obvious, one of the biggest challenges is finding enough chunks of time big enough & insulated enough to do serious thinking & writing. So the blogging may have to take second priority. But we will see.

    (I’ve also forgotten a bit how to do WordPress!)

    Thanks again for the good wishes.

    Chris.

    Chris Lawrence

    9 December 2012 at 6:47 am

  2. I can’t tell you how absolutely delighted your post has made me. It is great to hear from you again, and to know that you are working on your Ph.D, I think part-time sometimes is a plus because it gives one more time to think during those in-between times.

    By coincidence, I was just thinking this evening that I was going to drop you a note, and remind you of your saying “Love is hard enough. But it is also enough.” The older I get, the more convinced I am that it gets to the heart of what life is about. Not the mushy Valentine’s Day kind of love, but the kind of love that also gets one through the seriously hard stuff as well when the rewards seem slim..

    I would like to hope that you will post a little more frequently than your current speed of every 17 months. But I understand why you had to stop. I had to stop blogging just to finish my second edition of The Big Bang to Now. I just couldn’t multi-task two things like that. So I appreciate if your blogging has to stay on the back burner for a little while longer. But I’m looking forward to your thoughts on the ethics of belief when you have finished. There seems so much to say on that score, so many ideas to exchange.

    Above all, I wish you the very best for now, and for the new year.

    Terry

    theotheri

    8 December 2012 at 8:59 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

